Executive Summary

Executive Summary

NTGPASS is a contributory, lump sum, defined benefit scheme established by the Superannuation Act 1986. It covers permanent and certain fixed term employees who commenced Territory employment between 1 October 1986 and 9 August 1999, when the scheme was closed to new members.

NTGPASS members are also automatically members of the NTSSS.

NTSSS is a non-contributory lump sum scheme which provides an employer-financed superannuation benefit at the rate of three per cent of salary for each year of service since 1 October 1988. The NTSSS covers most Territory public sector employees (including permanent, temporary, casual or irregular employees, consultants, contractors, board members or office holders) and was modified in 1992 to take into account the superannuation guarantee legislation of the Commonwealth Government. Benefits from the scheme are paid by the Territory at the time employment ceases. There is no NTSSS fund and therefore no employee contributions and no rollovers can be accepted.

NTGPASS and NTSSS are administered by the Commissioner of Superannuation and the staff of the NT Superannuation Office, which is a branch of the Department of Treasury and Finance.

Last updated: 24 January 2018

Share this page:

Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.