The Mineral Royalty Act 1982 imposes a royalty on all minerals extracted in the Northern Territory (NT) except for uranium, petroleum and extractive minerals of a specified kind.

Division 5, Part III of the Petroleum Act 1984 levies a royalty on the production of petroleum in the NT.


Under Territory Revenue Office's publication system, documents published on this website will be updated as necessary.

Where you maintain hard copies of documents downloaded from this website, check the currency of the documents periodically.

Territory Revenue Office suggests that the best policy is to download documents as they are needed to be used.

In particular, when you refer to a Royalty Guideline, ensure that your copy is the most recent version.

All Guidelines have a version history at the start of the document indicating the currency of the document. An archive of previous Guidelines will be maintained in order for you to refer to the relevant Guidelines for a past period of time. For more information on the publication system, refer to Mineral Royalty Guideline RG-MRA-001: MRA Guidelines and Advance Opinions DOCX (72.4 KB).

Similarly, ensure that you use current forms in order that all relevant information is supplied to Territory Revenue Office to minimise any delays in processing those forms.

While every effort has been made to ensure the integrity of documents published on this web site and that they are free from viruses, no representation or warranty is given that the documents are free from viruses or other defects. The recipient assumes all responsibility for any loss or damage resulting directly or indirectly from the use or download of any file.


If you need more information or if you would like to comment on the recently restructured royalty information, contact the Territory Revenue Office on 1300 305 353 or email to

Last updated: 19 May 2022

Give feedback about this page.

Share this page:

URL copied!