New 2018 Determination

New Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements 2018 (DRFA) have been finalised by the Commonwealth and will replace the existing Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements, Determination 2017 (NDRRA) from 1 November 2018. The DRFA are set to introduce a nationally uniform approach to the provision of Commonwealth financial assistance to disaster affected communities and provide for reimbursement of between 50 and 75 per cent state of costs associated with eligible disaster recovery measures.

The DRFA and associated guidelines can be found below:

Where the DRFA is activated, Commonwealth assistance available to individuals and communities may be delivered through a number of measures, including:

  • personal hardship and distress assistance
  • counter disaster operations
  • concessional loans or interest subsidies for small businesses and primary producers
  • transport freight subsidies for primary producers
  • loans and grants to voluntary non-profit organisations
  • the restoration or replacement of essential public assets
  • community recovery funds.

In carrying out or contributing to the cost of eligible measures under the DRFA, Territory agencies are required to provide assistance to affected individuals and communities:

  • in accordance with the a new DRFA Management System which articulates an internal compliance framework, including a Treasurer’s Direction, associated guidelines.
  • principles and irrespective of whether this is eligible for reimbursement
  • implement Territory and agency-based strategies, including insurance and natural disaster mitigation planning and implementation
  • incorporate administrative and governance practices that ensure control objectives under the DRFA Management System.

Last updated: 22 August 2018