About DRFA

The Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) implements guidelines for the Territory to claim disaster expenditure, replacing the former NDRRA. The DRFA 2018 Determination is effective for all events from 1 November 2018, and all previous events will remain under the NDRRA.

The Territory is best placed to identify the types and levels of assistance required following a natural disaster event or terrorist act. It is the Territory’s responsibility for disaster and emergency  management, which is not limited by the types of assistance identified by the Commonwealth for

The DRFA sets out the principles for assistance available from the Commonwealth which are intended to support the relief and recovery measures conducted by the Territory. The Commonwealth support measures complement the Territory’s strategies for providing recovery assistance before, during and after a disaster event.

The Commonwealth DRFA 2018 Determination and Schedules can be found at: Disaster Assist - DRFA 2018 Determination. There are four categories of assistance measures detailed at: Categories of

Current registered disaster events

849 - Severe Tropical Cyclone Trevor - March 2019

800 - Tropical Cyclone Marcus - March 2018

815 - Monsoonal Through - January 2018

785 - Daly River Flooding - January 2018

Last updated: 12 August 2019


Was this page useful?

Describe your experience

More feedback options

To provide comments or suggestions about the NT.GOV.AU website, complete our feedback form.

For all other feedback or enquiries, you must contact the relevant government agency.